In recent years, the pressure of students in both schools and universities has increased. They are pushed to work hard at a young age.

In modern megacities, it is common to see that children at 5 years old are required to attend a variety of curriculums such as dancing, drawing and second language learning. Some people contend that it contributes to their individual development. From my perspective, I agree with this view to some extent. Admittedly, it is indispensable to urge children to work hard in such a competitive society. In fact, when entering primary schools, pupils endeavor to gain better grades and teachers’ compliment. If they fail to devote themselves to study, it is likely for them to fall behind peers or even lose the interest in learning. In addition, one’s potential can never be achieved without persistent efforts. Most distinguished pianists or dancers started their training at the age of three or four, spending all time in learning and practicing. So do the authoritative learners who had cultivated the reading habit at their early age. Furthermore, a hardworking or diligent learning attitude benefits children for the whole life. There is an old saying that: “ You must reap what you have sown. ” It means that whether success of academic work, career or life can be achievable depends on how hard a person works. Consequently, in order to cope with the adversity and hardship, there is no doubt that children are supposed to be instilled and conform to this approach. However, we can not deny the negative impacts it brings. The first one is that childhood, which is often thought as the happiest time of one’s life, may be filled with mathematic formulas or new vocabularies. Naturally, less time is left for children to appreciate the magic of nature or share happiness and sorrows with friends. What’s worse, once lost, it lost forever. How could a young man experience the same feeling as a kid even if they are flying a kite together? Mankind can never walk back to the past. In conclusion, I firmly believe that children should be forced to work hard from a young age in an attempt to make brilliant achievements while it does not mean that all their leisure activities should be banned. Instead, they are encouraged to alternate work with rest.