Imprisonment is not always an effective deterrence and many convicts re-offend what are the causes and solution for them

Crime is a serious and growing problem throughout the world. Although those who commit it are put the prison so that they rehabilitate themselves and become a good person once again. But once they are released from prison it is likely to re-offend again however, if proper guidance and support are provided one can reduce the re-offending issues. Firstly, the reason who has committed the crime for the first time will become an offender once again after being released from prison. This happens because they live with other criminals with a lack of guidance and rehabilitation support. In most of the prisons they are not given proper work due to which when they are released, they do not have any skill. Secondly, whenever they are released from prison they are not accepted by society. As a result, they are not given a proper chance to work in the outer world. Hence, they struggle financially which leads them back to do crimes regardless of the consequences. There are two solutions to this problem of the repeating offenders. One way is that whenever any criminal entering the prison than they should be given proper consulting related to the expertise they have in their hands. For example, one who has good knowledge of doing wood carving should be given a task where he/she can upskill their knowledge with some stipend so, whenever they are released, they can live their living with that money and start their own business. Another way is to create a semi-government platform where they can work and showcase their skill and earn money. In conclusion, whenever a first-time offender is released by given proper guidance and support then they will not do the crime again. If the government implements this solution, they might become a contributor in lowering the crime rate throughout the country.