In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes occurring? Do you think these changes are positive or negative? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the twenty first century, family roles and structure has changed to a greater extend due to various reasons like increase in awarness, gender equality, literacy rate, employment opportunities and many more which I shall discuss, in this essay. Firstly, people are highly educated these days and have awareness about the family roles. For instance, earlier only women used to look after their household chores and men were responsible to work but the scenario has changed now, this is the age of equality, where both male and female work equally outside the house towards their profession as well as for the house duties. Moreover, in new age individuals prefer to live in a nuclear family rather than joint family which was the family structure followed in past. This has happened because of change in lifestyle and personal preferences of young couples getting married. Additionally, mostly people find jobs at distant places from their own houses due to which they have to relocate. Thus, after marriage the girl also moves with her partner. Many people find it hard to adjust with so many other family members under roof as each person has their own lifestyle and do not like others to interfer in their personal matters and demand for their own space and democracy. In my opinion, the advantages of these changes outweigh the disadvantges. To begin with, a research proves that humans who live in small family of three to four members are more happy as compared to individuals residing in big families. Furthermore, people stay really busy in their day to day lives that they get no time for huge gatherings and excessive social interactions. With change in lifestyle, adults prefer to live separately after getting married or after certain age and live in their own space.