In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes occurring? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

Society is in constant evolvement, and so are people’s mindsets. In fact, it is not surprising that during the last century the family structure has changed radically. The two main factors of this development are the independency of the women and the social acceptance of gay and lesbian unions. About a hundred years ago the husband was at the top of the family’s hierarchy, holding the role of bread giver. This position made him the most important member of the family, along with being a male, and his opinion could have not been contradicted. Moreover, the wife’s duty regarded only the housekeeping and taking care of the children. However, with the two world words women acquired more and more importance in the society and started to work, becoming financially independent too. This led women to have the same importance as men and, as a consequence, wives became equals to husbands. In more recent years a new issue, for some, or just a change for others happened with gay marriages. Although in some countries it is still not legal to have a same-sex-union, it is a fact that self-proclaimed gay and lesbian couples have exponentially increased. Therefor a family in 2021 would be consisting of either two husbands, two wives or just one husband and one wife. The role of children has changed over the time too. A century ago, kids were expected to do chores and to start working early to help the family. In fact, a family would have multiple children to have more support. Now children are considered the most important people in the family and parents tend to put the kid’s need first. In conclusion, being a 21-year-old women myself, I am glad to have the opportunity to be considered equal to my partner and to see couples of any gender. My only concern regards children, who I think are becoming too spoilt by their own parents.