Many people say that movies and TV programs affect us negatively while others say that they are two influential and useful media for us. How do movies and TV affect us?

With the enhancement in technology, reaching sources, such as movies or TV programs, has become easier day by day. Thereupon, it is undeniable that films and TV series or documentaries significantly influence humankind. Whether they adversely affect humankind or people utilize them for their own good is a controversial topic. I believe that the more resources that offer us a place to learn, the more chance is given to be educated or informed. This essay evaluates how TV programs and movies in terms of their pros, such as their contribution to people's lives by teaching them and their cons, such as tempting people to violence and aggression. On the one hand, TV programs and movies offer one of the most affordable means of rapidly getting knowledge, advancing intellectual level, and getting informed by everything on earth. For example, when a person sits on her/his couch and pushes the start button on the remote control, he/she can get updates from the news channels about the weather, politics, etc. Moreover, she/he probably would come across a quiz show that proposes knowledge about culture, history, and geography and entertaining people. Thus, they would ease their stress and tension for a while in their hectic life. However, young adults can be inspired by movies and learn about directors, which broaden their vision. On the other hand, violence and aggression are shown in movies and dramas; thus, they become more susceptible for people, especially children. When children grow up and observe the acts of important figures, such as lead actors in movies or tv programs, they copy their irresponsible actions in their real life. Besides, watching TV programs and films takes monumental time; thus, younger people become unaccountable towards their education and curricular activities. Sitting in the same spot for a long time also affects people severely, which can lead to becoming obese or struggle with serious diseases. To sum up, while some assert that TV programs and movies cause vigorous consequences, others claim that they are beneficial media for everyone. Even if both arguments have rational claims at some point, I incline towards the idea that they provide very advantageous materials.