In recent years technology has played an increasingly important role in the creation and sharing of all types of art, particularly photography and music. How is this trend beneficial for artists and those who enjoy their work? What are some disadvantages?

These days, more and more artists are using technology to create and share their work. There are those who say that the sharing of media is beneficial, however others believe that it can be disadvantageous to the artists. This essay will examine the positive aspects and drawbacks of this trend and provide an overall opinion. From an overall perspective there are a number of advantages of technology for the art world. Perhaps the main advantage is that artists can access a global library of movies, pictures and sounds. For example, if a musician needs a particular accompaniment to their song, they can access it readily and cheaply, without needing to buy expensive equipment. Furthermore, an advantage for the consumer is that art work can be stored a lot more safely. In the past, if a photograph or CD was damaged, the consumer needed to replace it. However, today these works can be stored in electronic form. Despite these arguments there are also various disadvantages to the use of technology by artists. One key disadvantage is that technology makes it easy to copy and share works of art, and so the artists often does not get paid. For example, many musicians complain that after having spent significant amounts of time producing a new song, their music is quickly downloaded and shared on the internet. As a result, musicians are unable to sell their music in traditional ways. In conclusion, it must be said that the technological revolution has clear advantages and disadvantages for artists. My personal view is that the advantages for artists and consumers outweigh the disadvantages. If the online commercial exchange of art and music can be controlled, it will become a wonderful tool for artists and a fantastic source of entertainment for the general public. a global