In recent years, teaching styles have been a topic of debate in many parts of the world. While some people argue that competition among students is paramount, I believe that learning to collaborate gives children more benefits.

In recent years, teaching styles have been a topic of debate in many parts of the world. While some people argue that competition among students is paramount, I believe that learning to collaborate gives children more benefits. Cooperative learning not only expands students’ social circle but also fosters the development of necessary skills. The learning model requires students to work together with their peers in small clusters or groups, thus establishing stable relationships with friends. Those relationships will be profoundly beneficial for them in later years. Living in the modern business world, employers have high expectations for candidates who possess both solid academic knowledge and other skills, which can be practiced and developed throughout years at school. By assigning tasks to each person and discussing how they can solve tasks, group efforts enable members to develop leadership skills and communication skills. Furthermore, collaborative learning raises students’ consciousness of the importance of knowledge. In competitive education, students strive to compete with others to avoid falling behind their peers. It creates a cycle of valuing grades over learning. However, in collaborative learning, to ensure efficient teamwork, they have to function as a unit and support together to grasp the fundamentals of a given subject. Although some students may not exert efforts to engage in teamwork fully, this can be adjusted by incorporating peer appraisals into team evaluations. In conclusion, collaborative learning helps students to be well-rounded people by developing imperative skills, relationships and valuing knowledge. Despite its several problems, collaborative learning brings more benefits than competitive one.