In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Reading is the success key for communities' development. At present, many readers prefer reading e-books rather than paper books. While paper books are popular among old people, I believe that the trend of reading on the screens will continue. At the outset, despite the fact that paper books are not environmentally friendly, some people adopt them for many reasons. Initially, it resembles a traditional culture especially in rural areas among our grandfathers and mothers. For instance, according to the statistics in Egypt, people whose age above fifty are the main customers of local journals and newspapers. Moreover, the sense of holding real papers in hand cannot be dismissed among certain individuals as well as not all of us have stable access to the internet. In sharp contrast to this, these days the trend of e-books went viral since it is easy to get and almost free. Firstly, when using mobile phones or laptops to check out the recent news or even studying, the cost will be nothing. To add, it is available anywhere and everywhere. for example, if you are going to your work using public transportation, it will be easier to use your iPad to browse a book or read a novel. Furthermore, if one 100-paper novel had chosen to be read on the screen, almost two trees would have been saved. This is because these papers are made mainly of trees. To conclude, although the culture of reading handbooks still existed in our societies, I believe that e-books are affordable and environmentally friendly. If we choose to save our trees, it will lead to a better future for us.