Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of the society. Others, however, believe that the school is the best place to learn this. Discuss both views and give own opinion.

Man is a social being and no one can exist as an island. While some people hold the view that parents have the responsibility to teach their children to become a good member of the society, others feel that the school is the best place to learn social values. In my opinion, both the parents and the teachers have an indispensable role in shaping the character of their children. Firstly, parents are the primary teachers and home is the first school where the personality development of children is initiated. From birth to preschool children are under the sole custody of their parents. They imitate the actions of their parents and for this reason it is important for parents to become a good role model for their children. Parents are the best people to teach them the concept of good and bad. When they are taught to make this distinction from a young age, they are unlikely to go astray when they grow up. However, parents are not the only influence on children. Teachers at school have an equally important role to play in the formation of their character. The school is essentially a microcosm of the universe. Here the children get to interact with other children of different character, personality and family backgrounds. This exposure that they get at school plays a crucial role in the formation of their parents. It is the duty of parents to instil in them the values of discipline and social commitment. To conclude, parents and teachers both have an equally important role in moulding the character of children. In my opinion, their roles are complementary.