Nowadays more and more people have to compete with young people for the same jobs. What problems does this cause? What are some possible solutions?

Those seeking a job are now facing stiffer competition from the younger generation. This essay will suggest that the main problem this causes is higher poverty among older people and propose lowering the retirement age as a possible solution, followed by a reasoned conclusion. Increased competition from today’s youth has left many over 50s in poverty. If a young and old person apply for the same job, it is often the case that the younger individual will have more qualifications and may also be willing to work for less money, leaving many seniors without work and ‘left on the scrapheap’. For example, a recent survey showed that since the financial crisis in 2008, fuel and food poverty has increased by 82% amongst the aged. Despite this, many of the older generation own their own property and have large savings and therefore, are somewhat insulated from these troubles. The most viable answer would be to drop the age of retirement. Most industrialised countries could afford to lower this from 65 to 60, thus allowing millions of people to simply retire and be looked after by the state. For instance, Finland recently decreased the retirement age for all government employees to free up more jobs for their graduates. However, this initiative may be very unpopular with the business community, who would have to pay for many of these early retirements. In summary, the increased rivalry between young and old in the job market has resulted in the impoverishment of many of our older citizens and countries should consider reducing the age of retirement to solve this.