SOME PEOPLE THINK IT IS BETTER FOR A COUNTRYS ECONOMY FOR PEOPLE TO SPEND MONEY WHILE OTHERS BELIEVE THAT IT WOULD BE BETTER FOR PEOPLE TO SAVE MONEY.

Money occupies a unique position in the modern economy. It is believed by some that it is better for the economy if people spend money whereas others think that saving money will benefit the economy. This essay will discuss both views and will come to a conclusion. On the one hand, it is argued that spending money can help the economy as it increases the GDP of the country. GDP is the measure of economic stability and therefore increased consumption indicates good economic growth. Increased expenditure provides the government with revenue in the form of taxes which will in turn be used for the betterment of the country. To prove, Government use tax revenues for developing infrastructure and for funding welfare projects. On the other hand, The rise in savings ratio can have a significant impact on the economy because higher savings means increased investment. To clarify, investments are made from savings. For instance, If people save more money, banks can lend more to firms for investments. Further, higher savings help boost productivity of the economy and also increase the employment opportunities as there is a growth in the number of industries and firms. Moreover, having reserves during recession facilitate faster economic recovery. Therefore, saving money is important as it will provide employment opportunities and also help the country the country during depression. To conclude, some people believe that saving money will increase investment and also boost productivity whereas others think that it is better to spend money as it provides the government with revenue which will be used for the well being of people. However, in my opinion spending money is better for the economy because if everyone starts saving money all at once, it will lead to recession