In recent years, many small shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this positive or a negative statement?

Over the last few years, people prefer buying goods from large shopping malls which resulted in the closure of small local businesses. In my opinion, this is a positive development because it is more convenient and the prices are more affordable. The first reason why it is beneficial is the convenience it could offer to the customers. This is because of large shopping malls consist of different stores internationally and locally owned, which provide a wide variety of items where buyers can choose from. They can buy everything in one roof and as a result, they do not need to travel from one shop to another. Furthermore, by doing shopping in this type of establishment it helps people to save time and effort. For example, The Mall of Asia in the Philippines has been considered the most visited shopping centre because it has 200 stores as well as different facilities. Another reason why people are encouraged to shop in a huge shopping complex is the prices of commodities they can purchase inside it. This is to say that goods being ordered from the suppliers are delivered by bulk. For this reason, the sellers can save some amount and this is passed on to the customers by selling their products at cheaper prices compared outside the malls. For instance, a recent study found that produce in SM hypermarket in our country is on average 20% cheaper than local shops. In conclusion, people are attracted to buy the things they need in large shopping establishments because it is more comfortable and the prices are cheaper.