in recent years many small shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. is this a positive or a negative development?

Change is the only constant, as rightly said by someone moreover change is also necessary for the continuous growth and advancement of the human race, be it in the culture, society, ideologies or trends. The shopping, culture has also changed quite a bit in the recent years with people preferring to visit large malls and shopping centres over small local shops. This essay will discuss why this is a positive development. Firstly, the shopping malls is more convenient option for the customers as they offer large variety of goods and brands under the same roof, which save the costumers from the botheration of roaming around the city to collect different types of items, such as clothing, groceries, utilities to name but a few. For an illustration, clothing and grocery store are found adjacent in a mall. Thus, resulting in the benefit of the consumer. Secondly, this change of shopping, fashion is also beneficial for the seller, rather than hampering, as it appears to be on the surface. Shops in large shopping centres tend to be more profitable as compared to local shops. There are numerous factors will lead to increased gains of these shops; relaxing atmosphere of the centre, shoppers having ample time, proximity to the same kind of shops being a few of them. For example, people shop good worth millions of dollars in Dubai's shopping festival each year. Therefore, leading to greater economic gains of the shop owners. To conclude, it is fair to say that the shifting of shopping, fashion from the local shops to the large centres may appear harsh in the beginning, but has greater positive outcomes for both sellers and buyers in the long run. It is also a necessary development to boost countries’ economies which will follow the increased consumerism triggered by these shopping centres.