In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

In present era, most of the small retailers are going out of the businesses, since, individuals go to large shopping centres or malls to shop their daily needs. As per my perspective, this change has brought more adverse effects than favorable due to several reasons illustrated further in the essay. To begin with, there is a vast difference in the price of the products in shopping malls as compared to small retail shops. To illustrate, corporate retailers charge higher for their products because of the cost involved in the maintenance of shops in malls which include infrastructure running cost. Moreover, the individuals tend to shop and buy more in comparison with an actual requirement. To exemplify, people find a lot of options and attractive displays showcasing the items on sale that induces them to buy the items which are not listed on their daily needs. Hence, customers end up spending more than their needs. Additionally, smaller retailer keeps more antique and authentic products. To elaborate, tourists often get attracted towards the traditionally made handicrafts rather than the branded products sold in the shopping malls. These products are favourites for tourists considering the product originality, alternatively the big shops in malls do not sell or promote these kind of products. Moreover, because of enlargement of large corporate shops, the survival of local shops and the livelihood of their employers and employee gets impacted. To cite an example, in pandemic time in Canada, closure of local shops has brought huge impact on the owners and workers of local shops facing difficulty in making ends meet. However, at the same time big retailer shops are running without any loss. Considering the unfavorable effects of the shopping malls on the business of local shops, I personally believe that it is a negative development and the recognition or originality of the small shops must be considered before taking a decision of replacing them with larger ones.