In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

In this contemporary era, increasing number of shopping lovers in well renowned malls have demised many small scale street businesses dramatically. Although the growing number of shopping malls give tremendous flexibility to opt enormous number of different items under a single roof, I firmly believe that the massive unemployment rate has been increased for local vendors. To commence with positive aspects, the main advantage for shopping from big centers is the getting numerous belongings like clothes, groceries and electronics from a single area. This is to say that one has to not go from one place to another by vehicle or walk in order to get all things which increase the influx of customers at shopping malls. For example, according to Ahmedabad Business Trade, 67% of youngsters do their shopping on any occasion form giant shopping centers as they get all their desirable items without time waste. To start with the opposite approach, the most considerable demerit is increased on unemployment rate among the small shopkeepers. It has been observed that most local store owners are not well-educated and this is the reason why they open small provision stores and jewelry shops. With increased number of commercial malls, there is a reduction in growth of small scale business which make left them without remuneration. For example, in a recent survey carried out by Gujarat government, 15% of villagers now suffering from financial crisis because of shutout of their business with increased number of malls. To conclude, it is an undeniable fact that building new centers for shopping gives a number of option to choose under single shelf, I personally opine that unemployment rate is increased with this development and government could take necessary measures to avoid such situations.