In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

In modern times, customers prefer shopping from a huge shopping complex than a small local shop. I assert that this is a positive development. This essay will initially talk about the variety and range offered at discounted prices in such malls and then it will talk about other services offered at such places. Firstly, shopping centres are more popular with customers owing to a variety and range of the products it serves on the shelf. Shops at such locations not only has multiple brands, but also have discounted prices, which is a huge benefit. These shops are able to get the benefits of economies of scale as compared to the local shops and hence can pass on the pricing advantage to its customers. In addition, all malls have numerous products ranging from clothes, watches, cosmetics, shoes, toys to name a few. Entire family can do their shopping at one place. For instance, adults can do a grocery shopping and children can get some toys at the same place. Secondly, these malls also offer other services apart from shopping. Such services include entertainment and food. Enjoyment has become very significant in everyone's life and therefore it is the main crowd puller. Shopping malls have multiplex and gaming zones, which provides refreshment for the adults as well as children. Furthermore, the mall also provides immense food varieties to the customers. For instance, city people mostly make a full day plan to visit malls as they get all shopping, enjoyment and food everything in one place. To conclude, I think it is a positive development. People are visiting more shopping malls because of the benefits they are getting in shopping and availability of various entertainment options.