In recent years, many people are making a decision to live alone. Why? Is this positive or negative development.

There has been a tending in many nations over a recent years among more people of all age groups to choose to live alone. This essay will discuss reasons for this, and this can have both positives and negatives. Beginning with reasons, one cause of this trend is economic as people are generally affluent than those in the past. This means that they can afford to make a choice to be alone, something not always possible in past. Another reason is that there are also cultural factors. There used to be more pressure to marry young and think about having a family, which now totally depends on the people for their self-fulfillment who will marry or divorce if their marriage is not happy. I would agree that this trend has positive as well as negatives. The main benefit is that individuals who live alone have helped to revitalize cities around the world since they are more likely to socialize, spend their money and participate in the public life than those living with other. However, there is a major drawback associated with the trend that people, living alone who experience problems may not have an outlet of talk. This lack of communication may lead to many health issues which would need to be dealt with by public health care services of the society. In conclusion, economic and cultural factors are the main reasons of the trend of living alone by people. Although it has some advantages, disadvantages cannot be overlooked.