In recent years, it seems that arranging students to each class according to their abilities was a heated debate. While some people believe that pupils with mixed-ability should be put in the same class, others argue that just students with academic ability are allowed to study in such classes

In recent years, it seems that arranging students to each class according to their abilities was a heated debate. While some people believe that pupils with mixed-ability should be put in the same class, others argue that just students with academic ability are allowed to study in such classes. From my perspective, the latter is more plausible. On the one hand, it is undeniable that mixed-ability classes bring a great deal of merit to the development of students. To begin with, when pupils with various abilities are educated in the same class, they are likely to learn from each other easily. This lead to the benefit that they would be able to overcome their weakness. To illustrate, those who are good at science subjects but struggle with art and music lessons will have chances to improve their drawing and singing skills with the help of their classmate and vice versa. As a result, they tend to grow up with well-round individuals. Another benefit is that the students can know how to cooperate efficiently in different ways as they have various abilities in one team. On the other hand, selecting students with the academic ability to the same class also brings many advantages. Particularly, it will be easier for the teachers to decide their lessons in class since their pupils’ abilities are resemble. For instance, students with a high level can be provided with more advanced materials to improve their studied skills, whereas those in a lower level can enrich their knowledge easily as the teachers can teach them detail at a slow pace. Therefore, this will not only improve the studied ways in pupils but also the qualities of teaching in teachers. In conclusion, although there are two streams of opinions about the class selected ways for students, it is my belief that arranging pupils with the same ability into a class is more reasonable.