In recent years, customers have become more attracted to purchasing items from famous brands. There are several reasons behind this trend and although the positive aspects are visible, its drawbacks appear more significant.

In recent years, customers have become more attracted to purchasing items from famous brands. There are several reasons behind this trend and although the positive aspects are visible, its drawbacks appear more significant. There are a number of reasons leading to this trend. First, as the globalization spreads, and the living standards improve, the significant changes on consumers’ shopping brands can easily be observed: the rich want to flaunt their weath by acquiring a huge number of well-know brands’ products to satisfy their vanity and lavish lifestyle. In fact, a recent survey shows that 50% of high-class people in Vietnam have a large collection of unused products bought solely for prestige. Second, the effects of advertisements are a crucial factor that encourages individuals to pay for luxurious items. Many big companies make considerable investments in commercials staring famous actors, singers and influencers as ambassadors in order to attract more buyers since many fans are willing to empty their wallet on clothes and accessories that are similar to their idols’. Although there are certain benefits from this trend, its drawbacks are more significant. First, the expansion of large companies would be a barrier for many start-up brands as these corporations might try to dominate and eliminate smaller one in order to maintain their positions. As a result, these new brands may find it hard to secure a place in the market which would ultimately lead to a high probability of bankruptcy. Second, while clients would choose to buy authentic goods from well-known brands, unethical distributors would see this as an opportunity to gain profit by selling fake and low-quality products to their customers. As a consequence, not only will well-known brands suffer a decrease in revenue but the customers would also have to use potentially dangerous products that could result in serious injuries. In conclusion, the tendency towards using items from famous brands mostly come from users’ demand for showing their wealth and social positions. However, this trend is disadvantageous to both businesses and individuals.