In recent year the family has changed as well as family roles. Why is this happening and is this situation positive or negative?

Change is the law of nature and with the changing times the family's inner construction, along with the positions of its members, has also changed. This essay intends to analyse the reasons of this trend. I believe that this situation has advantages as well as disadvantages.  The main factor contributing to this trend is the social change brought about by globalisation. The exposure to foreign cultures has changed people's mindset, and has also redefined the role of women in the family. Women are no longer limited to household chores, and are working shoulder to shoulder with men. The reins of the households are no longer in the hands of the man, the bread-earmer, of the family.  The second major reason for this change in the fabric of the family is the economic condition. Since it is challenging to maintain a family with many members and to make ends meet, it is more feasible to keep the the family small. Thus, according to a recent study, the nuclear family has risen in popularity in the last one or two decades.  This modification in the family structure and family roles has brought about many benefits. Firstly, it has led to an egalitarian society, where gender differences are disappearing, and women can also fulfil their ambitions. The society has also benefited from a greater labour force.  On the other hand, the bonds between family members are being weakened. Since most parents have to spend time working, their children are left unattended or sent to childcare centers or boarding schools. The shrinkage in family size also results in more elders being sent to old-age home instead of staying with their children and grandchildren.  To sum up, due to the changes in culture and economy, the family structure and responsibilities among family members bave been modificd. While this trend positively contributes to gender equality and strengthens the labour force, many adverse effects on family relationships.