In recent times, many people have focused on the negative effects advertising has on children’s health, behaviour and family relationships. Advertising to children should be banned. To what extent do you agree?

Advertising to children should be banned as it can lead to many negative effects on children’s behavior, health and family relationship. In many cases the messages in the ads makes the children have wrong belief. Ads create a need for them to own the product which they need. Parents who are unable to handle the temper and tantrums have the tendency to buy the children what they need. This can increase financial issues for low income families. If the parents deny, children may become disgruntle and this can cause low-esteem because their parents are unable to buy expensive products. Exposure to Ads results in children getting used to lifestyle as shown in media. Children get attracted to high end brands that show shoes, clothes and other costly products due to which they disregard the low –end products. There are too many attractive commercial which are marketing junk food and beverages which can affect children’s health. This leads to other major health issues like heart problems, diabetes and other issues. There are many marketing messages which can be percieved as truths and can stay until they become adults. Exposure to all types of ads can harm the children. Ads can also lead to major change in children’s behaviour. The effect of ads can be serious on children if they are frequently exposed to them. Things like video games and expensive toys can have a negative impact on child’s development and behavior. The exposure of such high-end, unreasonable products can make the child very demanding. For the sake of children’s health and development, we should consider imposing a ban on ads.