In recent time, people are beginning to lean towards a more compact family compared to a large one. There are several benefits and drawbacks to this.

In recent time, people are beginning to lean towards a more compact family compared to a large one. There are several benefits and drawbacks to this. An important benefit of a small family size is the economic aspect. Owing to cost of the feeding and clothing, cost of training children in schools, amount required to go for a vacation, its obvious, the less the number of the family members to be catered for, the less the financial implication. In addition, a family of 3 will need a smaller space to house them compared to one made up of 7 resulting in an increase in the amount spent on housing. On the contrary, a larger family may be preferred due to the cultural implication. For instance, many African societies see it as a sign of affluence. Also, a large family enjoys a more lively home environment as the different personality of each family member brings its uniqueness. In addition, in our society where children are about the main source of fund used as upkeep when parents are old and unemployed, this may be easier when the family is large. In conclusion, a small family may be beneficial in financial aspects, however, a large family may be preferred in societies where such align more with their needs.