In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

It is true that traffic congestion is one of the major challenges of living in large cities around the world. In order to alleviate the problem, a number of people believe that the government ought to impose extremely high taxes on private vehicle ownership to encourage public transport. However, there are a number of benefits and drawbacks associated with this policy, which are elaborated on this essay. In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge. Traffic congestion in many cities around the world is severe. One possible solution to this problem is to impose heavy taxes on car drivers and use this money to make public transport better. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of such a measure. One of the first benefits of such a measure is that the heavy taxes would discourage car owners from using their cars because it would become very expensive to drive. This would mean that they would begin to make use of public transport instead, thus reducing traffic problems and pollution as well. Another benefit would be that much more use would be made of public transport if it was improved. It is often the case that public transport in cities is very poor. For example, we often see old buses and trains that people would rather not use. High taxes would generate enough money to make the necessary changes. Nevertheless, there are drawbacks to such a solution. First and foremost, this would be a heavy burden on the car drivers. At present, taxes are already high for a lot of people, and so further taxes would only mean less money at the end of the month for most people who may have no choice but to drive every day. In addition, this type of tax would likely be set at a fixed amount. This would mean that it would hit those with less money harder, whilst the rich could likely afford it. It is therefore not a fair tax. In conclusion, it is certainly true that imposing extra taxes on owing personal cars might be effective in resolving the increasing global problem of traffic jams by encouraging the development of public transport facilities and their more usage by people. However, the disadvantages associated with the adaptation to this governmental policy outshine its potential benefits. Nevertheless, it is recommended that governments improve the internet infrastructures to take advantage from other effectual measures such as teleworking, distance learning and online shopping to mitigate the traffic congestion crisis.