In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

It is true that traffic congestion is one of the major challenges of living in large cities around the world. In order to alleviate the problem, a number of people believe that the government ought to impose extremely high taxes on private vehicle ownership to encourage public transport. However, there are a number of benefits and drawbacks associated with this policy, which are elaborated on this essay. In conclusion, it is certainly true that imposing extra taxes on owing personal cars might be effective in resolving the increasing global problem of traffic jams by encouraging the development of public transport facilities and their more usage by people. However, the disadvantages associated with the adaptation to this governmental policy outshine its potential benefits. Nevertheless, it is recommended that governments improve the internet infrastructures to take advantage from other effectual measures such as teleworking, distance learning and online shopping to mitigate the traffic congestion crisis.