In order to reduce crime in the long term, alternative methods of punishment must be found such as education and community service. How far do you agree?

It is a well-known fact that over recent years the prison is the most common form of punishment for a plethora of crimes. However, I believe that there are alternative ways of punishment for minor offenders, such as education and community services. In this essay, I will justify my viewpoint using relevant supporting evidence and examples. One way to support my viewpoint is that education is an effective way of reducing crime in the long term. Prisons should focus on providing education and vocational training for inmates to make them better citizens and help them to find employment. Consequently, when these people are released, it will be easier for them to find a job and in this way the chance of reoffending is reduced. Another way to reduce crime is the community service as an alternative to imprisonment or fines. Community service is a way to reform offenders which makes them useful for the local community as they are providing a service such as cleaning streets or maintaining public buildings. Recent statistics have proven that community service can help convicts not to reoffend because they interact with low-abiding citizens and remain part of the society. It could be argued that a lot of people are afraid because some of the criminals are not in the prison. Society members do not feel safe because offenders walking free in the streets and the parks. Furthermore, community service is not a strong deterrent and criminals may reoffend. In conclusion, although there may be valid arguments that alternative methods of punishment may cause fear in society, I am inclined to believe that practices such as education and community service can reduce crime in the long term. Therefore, the whole punishment system needs to be changed so that imprisonment is not the only way of compliance for offenders.