In order to help small businesses thrive, government should play a minimal role in private business matters

The businesses present in any particular region form a major part of the ecosystem (for the lack of a better word) of that region and hence their contribution to the development of that region and the people in it is crucial. Not only do businesses create jobs in a region, but they also facilitate trade and by extension exchange and enrichment of goods, knowledge and the culture in general between the regions involved. Barring a few rare exceptions most new businesses start out small and some of them then go on to becoming "large" scale businesses gradually over the span of years. Not all businesses survive let alone become large or medium scaled businesses. Most of the times the decision is made by the Open Market as a whole depending on a lot a factors like say the demand for the product that the business is selling, its effectiveness/quality, etc. which are largly decided by the customers of that business and therefore the success of a business depends, to a great extent, on it's customers, which is only fair. This is more relevant/applicable/true for small business then it is for large well-established ones which tend to have more variety in their products for their different customers. Now, there are other factors which also affect where or not a small business does well or not like natural disasters, or some unforeseen circumstance beyond their control. These factors, as unfortunate as they may be, theres nothing much that can be done regarding them besides having a few fail-safes. Apart from these, there is another major factor viz. the government and their policies which is, to a large extent, beyond the control of the business and it's customers and which has a huge impact on the way the business operates and by extension the revenue it generates and it's growth in general. Stance: Mostly agree. Points: 1. Less government influence means faster decision making, smother operation, quick implementation of new policies, etc. since its a small business. 2. More room for change and experimentation and therefore more potential to grow. 3. Faciliates an environment which is more conducive to a mode of operation which is honest and fair as there would be less number of unnecessary stringent government policies that the business may seek to circumvent by potentially illegal means. Conclusion: A minimal government influence is fine but anything more than that is just unnecessary for small scale businesses and would only serve as an obstacle or a deterrant to the business' success.