HOW DO WE MAKE OUR CITIES MORE SUSTAINABLE?

Our world is becoming increasingly urbanized. In last 20 years, more than half the world’s population has been living in cities, and that might to rise 60% in 2030. With this extreme urbanization numbers and populations raises the problem of sustainability. This problem comes with a question: Our cities are sustainable enough? And if not, how do we make our cities more sustainable. World Economic Forum and United Nations are trying to create new projects, and also help to the people who wants develop projects for sustainable cities. In this article, we consider the recommendations of the U. N. , and present our own recommendations. With the growing human population, living in urban areas getting more difficult than 20 years before. (fragment sentence-no verb) In last 20 years, most of the big city’s populations such as, Beijing, Tokyo, Istanbul, Berlin, New York are increased. With this increase, the people that living in the big cities faced numerous problems, such as the problem of pollution, infrastructure issues, traffic jam, sound pollution etc. Under these problems, every citizen agreed that this situation is not sustainable. So, what should we do? Under the terms of these huge problems, we need to build modern, sustainable cities to accommodate everyone (globalgoals. org/11-sustainable-cities-and-communities). To make cities inclusive, safe, resilient, and sustainable, United Nations developed a new project which called “Goal 11”. With this project U. N take aim for sustainable cities and increase city developments. There are various topics includes in this project, such as free food for poor people, quality education for everyone in the city, gender equality, clean water and sanitation, clean energy, economic growth, sustainable communities, climate action, life below water, protecting forests and strong justice institutions. This project provides a wide spectrum for sustainable living and development. Also, this project aims to strengthen efforts to protect and safeguard the world’s cultural and natural heritage with to ensure more cultural areas and activities in cities (un. org/sustainabledevelopment/cities/). Another important part of this project is the supporting countries and cities for better development. The project aims to support least developed countries, including through financial and technical assistance, in building sustainable and resilient buildings utilizing local materials (un. org/sustainabledevelopment/cities/). Also, freelance project preparers offer several recommendations and has set 7 goals for sustainable cities. These recommendations include many goals, from greening buildings to increasing the efficiency of public transport and reducing car usage. For instance, “miniature urban forest goal” aims to create tiny forests in every city, and with this way intent to fight extreme carbon usage in cities. Another important project is “The 20-minute neighbourhood”. This project aims to everything a citizens needed for a happy, healthy life could be found within a 20-minute public transport trip, bike ride or walk from home (weforum. org/agenda/2020/09/cities-sustainability-innovation-global-goals/). Some cities are working to make this a reality, with Melbourne leading the way -it wants residents to always be within easy reach of things like shops, business services, education, or leisure facilities (weforum. org/agenda/2020/09/cities-sustainability-innovation-global-goals/). What about our recommendation? What should we do for sustainable cities and future? We should create an atmosphere city actors help each other and create their own projects freely. Governments should support more projects for development and but not just economic ones also for The Green New Deal. As we know, future of the planet depends on how cities grow, function, and respond to stress. By getting urban development right, cities can accelerate progress towards achieving the sustainable development goals by creating jobs and offering better livelihoods; improving social inclusion; promoting the decoupling of living standards (Woodbridge, p. 2). Protecting local and regional ecosystems also very important. Cities must grow peacefully with environment and planet ecosystems. Reducing both urban and rural poverty and ending pollution and gas emissions. By working in concert with various actors, local leader can implement effective public policies, promote the financing and delivery of sustainable infrastructure, goods, and services. These are the key to success on this matter. In the 21st century, our top priority is to get sustainable life and protect our one and only planet. But in these circumstances affected by growing population, pollution, and climate change, create sustainability for our cities and world is a very harsh challenge. But if we set our sustainability and development goals realistically and implement them on time, it is not too late. If cities change, so does the world. And we must change our current city types and create more sustainable ones. Because there is no other planet!