In order to be successful in sport, some people think you have to be physically strong. Others say that mental strength is more important.

It is often argued that physical fitness plays a significant role in becoming a successful sportsperson. However, others hold a view that being mentally strong would aid to achieve the purpose. In my opinion, it all depends on both physical and mental strength. On the one hand, physical strength, which can be attained through rigorous workout, plays an imperative role to be successful in sports. In other words, if you were to have stamina and muscles, it would help the person achieve the target easily. Additionally, some sports examine the individual’s fitness level and if they do not have that strength, they will be disqualified from the game. For instance, my cousin, who aimed to participate in the Running Race at the district -level competition was not allowed to participate because of not being physically fit. Hence, not until the person is physically strong did they allow you to take part in certain games. On the other hand, having strong-will and determination is also required to achieve success in sports field. It will not only boost the person’s self-confidence but also gives moral support to overcome any problems. If the person is mentally strong, he would be able to handle the stressful situation, which occurs almost in all the games, easily. For example, a study found that 80% of the athletes, who won medals, were strong-minded person’s who remained calm and played well even under pressure. This proves that being a successful sportsmen, commitment and fixed mind is highly required. In conclusion, it appears to me that to be successful in sports, a person should have both physical and mental fitness. I believe that only by maintaining balance in them, can they achieve success.