In my opinion, the ability of making new friends unhindered is even more important to happiness than the ability of maintaining harmonic relationship

Though the whole society has now evolved both materially and ideologically, many people still hold the banal thinking that maintaining steady friendships is the only key to living happy lives, yet one’s ability to easily expand his or her friend circles should also be seen as a decisive factor. In my opinion, the ability of making new friends unhindered is even more important to happiness than the ability of maintaining harmonic relationship within a small, enclosed group. First and foremost, it is a simple fact that the more friends one has, the more boisterous his or her life may be, hence happier. Although some hold opposing point of views that making too many friends seriously diminishes one’s own leisure time, these people fail to realize that people are gregarious animals, hence the majority of the population needs other’s companion when they do meaningful things or simply wandering. In this case, making new friends not only creates a more comprehensive network that provides various choices of activities to an individual, but also ensures that a person can always have enough audience to share with. These possible outcomes all serve to make the person’s life more interesting and more fulfilled, and can directly improve his happiness. On the contrary, maintaining only already established relationships is somehow pessimistic and detrimental to one’s happiness, as the limited number of friends may not be present when a person needs them, and they may share similar interests so nothing innovative happens, as further explained below. Aside from the most obvious benefit of companionship, the act of making new friends can also help a person discover new hobbies and skills, which may greatly influence his sense of happiness. To further explain, within this process of making friends, the person inevitably have to communicate and interact with different types of people. Although certain people may not present anything interesting, Some of those strangers might possess certain interests or characteristics that are totally unprecedented, and through the process of exploring friends’ interests a person gets to know some interesting activities he used to ignore. Satisfaction of curiosity ultimately leads to one’s improvement of happiness. On the contrary, a small groups of old friends is a small group of old friends. In other words these people no longer provide the excitement or innovations for a person, hence they do not help with one’s happiness. Examples can be found in daily life, as for me, I once happened to join a hiking group chat on Facebook and participated in one of their weekly hikes. I was awed by the magnificence of nature. Ever since then I started regularly hiking. This kind of experience is a great supplement to the theory about why making new friends, not clinging to old friends, is more important to people’s happiness. There is still, however, a third reason to support befriending more people over passively maintaining relationships. The process of making new friends leads people to become their better selves which in return makes them happier. Generally speaking, people eventually get to realize some advantages and weaknesses within themselves from each endeavor of making new friends, no matter success or failure. Now that these character-related issues are noticed, wise people will start to mould themselves into more charismatic individuals, and the process of self-improvement is indeed delightful, not to mention its educational benefits. In contrast, sticking to acquaintances cannot achieve the same goal. To sum up, enlarging friend circles introduces people to strangers who can not only fill up people’s daily lives with joy, but also satisfy people’s curiosity about unknown parts of life; people themselves can also learn to become better individuals through making new friends. These exclusive benefits make me believe that the ability to easily make new friends is much more important than the ability of maintaining existing relationship.