In most cultures,people are taught to respect the elderly. Is it important to respect the elderly? How does one demonstrate respect to the elderly?Be specific and give concrete response

In a big number of countries, the majority of people are taught to show respect to the older generations. This is something really significant and can be shown in a lot of ways some of which are going to be mentioned below. To begin with, respecting the elderly it is of a high importance because are the ones who raised and educated us. This means that they already have sacrified a lot in order for us to become successful adults and one of the minimal things that we could do is appreciate them. Besides this we need to maintain this kind of behaviour around them because they always were beside us during difficult times so we can feel at ease again and get a hold of ourselves. No matter how you see it they have done a great deal of things for us so respecting them is a must. Obviously, there are a lot of ways to show your respect one of which is to help them do things they are not able to do anymore like lifting heavy objects. We could also provide them with food and medicine when nessecery just like they did it for us when we were young to show them that we appreciate what they have done through all these years. And last but not least is to make sure when we don't see them to call them so they can feel loved and that there are people that care for them. In conclusion, respecting elderly should be a characteristic of every young persons personality for a lot of reasons and there plenty ways to accomplish this. Fortunately, this kind of behaviour is being adopted by more and more individuals leading to a reassuring future.