in most countries, young people form a large proportion of those who are unemployed. Why is this the case, and what can be done to solve the problem? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Generally speaking, younger people are more likely to be unemployed. There are several reasons for it and the solutions to it are not easy to implement in the short term. However, the proper incentives need to be in place for the companies and the young people to move forward. First of all, it is often heard that there are millions of jobs that remained vacant even without people applying for them. It appears that there is a mismatch in the job market, the qualifications and the expectations on both sides. This is especially true in labor-intensive work. More and more youth are pushed through advanced degrees. Advanced degrees are very good from a personal interest view however the students that pursue them are not aware of the potential job market afterward. There is no planning between the higher education institutes and the potential employers. It is difficult to plan future needs as the requirement for the job market would mean the education to be ready 5 to 10 years ahead for example until the early 2000s secretarial trainings were still taught in France but the emphasis on robotic was minimal. Nevertheless, only if there is a discussion between education representatives and trade unions or the like occurs can the one pass on its assumed needs and then for the education sector to adapt. Secondly, the employers are often concerned that the lack of experience and the cost of hiring. After having searched for the right candidate for some time and trained him, there is a high chance that either his work expectation or his capability is leading to a dismissal or a resignation but the employer has spent time and money already, this means that in the future they would rather hire people with previous experience. In order to fluidify the market for youth, the employers should be incentivized to hire younger people using tax-credit or subsidies to make them interesting to hire from a financial stand-point. To conclude, employers can be interested by young people but with the right set of skills and must be willing to take on some risks. However the public institutions needs to work hand-in-hand with the business leaders to promote the employment of the youth, this comes in two acts, one being desirable for the job market while offering realistic opportunities and then derisking the hiring through incentives.