In most countries, there is an age limit at which people are permitted to drive but no age limit for drivers. Some experts have proposed that drivers be aged between 20 to 70. Why they have proposed that? What are the drawbacks of this proposal?

Most of the people do impart them towards an art of driving. Driving was considered as hobby or profession by high class people, an archaic scenario but these days countries are provoking driving as an equal right and a freedom of regulation towards citizens although in most countries, there are age limits for people, who are permitted for driving but it is found to have no age limits for professional drivers. Some experts have proposed that drivers should be aged between 20 to 70 years and the reason behind this proposal would be in consideration with driver's physical and mental health factors. India have no maximum age limit for getting a valid driving license but the requirement of age more than 18 years is important and necessary, minimum age limit for a valid driving license. As per Motor Vehicle Act of 1988, the driving license issued to a person of age above 50 years be renewed every after 5 years. That implies, the driving license issued to a man of age above 50 years is valid for only 5 years. The person of age above 50 years should undergo medical test and to be declared fit for driving. Any aged person can drive a vehicle if he is medically and physically fit and having a valid driving license. They discourage giving the license to 72+ and limit it up to 75 as per 2010 laws. The major concern includes eyesight issues which becomes a hurdle in many cases after 60. The new norms, being devised by an expert committee set up by the ministry of road transport and highways, is weighing the option of barring people who are over 72-75 years old from getting a driving license. The move, which is still under consideration, is likely to impact many active senior citizens who drive their own vehicles. Another reason for prohibiting the over age drivers might be employment opportunities, awaiting for those young, physically fit and frenetic drivers, whom would be amicable and alleviate several accidental losses. However, the experienced one could also been a part in eradicating the losses but they weren’t so energetic and accessible towards the situation. Senior and experience drivers might intend to several issues and problems, as these proposed ideas and suggestions would deter their daily activities and wages and some might even get revoking of their professional driving licenses. However this might drives a melancholic situation in the case of poor and middle class drivers. Some drivers may impart their activities towards private workers as a part of leisure or might be as a profession. In concluding the facts, dealt regarding the drivers age limit, it is clearly stated as these proposals might be miserable for experienced and with 70+ year’s drivers, though leading a positive line for youngsters and adults and also in concern with their physical and psychological factors, however, if you are fit enough then start your car and go for a long drive.