in most countries people are taught to respect the elderly. Is it important to respect teh elderly? How does one demonstrat respect to the elderly? Be specific

It is a pretty well known fact, that in the majority of countries people show respect to the elderly ones. This gesture shows good behavior and discipline. In my opinion it is very important to demonstrate respect to the elderly people for many reasons, which many of them will be examined below. To start with, in my country Greece the demonstration of respect to the old people is something that someone can be find in every family and in every person’s principals, with very little exceptions. We believe that this is very important for them because as time goes by they get older and they feel more lonely and disappointed, so what we have to do is to show them our love and appreciation. Moreover, it is a usual phenomenon that when the parents are in work they call their kids’ grandparents to keep an eye on them until they come back. I believe that this is a very serious reason to respect our grandparents and generally the elderly people There are many ways to show our respect to an old person. In case he is a relative of us, we can show our respect and love by giving him a kiss or call him for a dinner. Furthermore, a good option is to buy him a gift that he was always wanted. Also if we see someone old enough who cannot pass the driveway, it will be great for him to help him pass easy and safe. Last but not least we should avoid talking to them baldly and not paying attention to them because they feel sad something that is very bad for an old person.