Advertising discourages people from being different individuals by making us want to be and to look the same.

In recent times, many advertisements are encouraging people to by items. Some people think that advertisements are discouraging them from being different, I completely agree with this argument because advertisements are compelling majority of viewers to look same and buy similar products. Firstly, advertisements are presenting products in such a way that viewers tend to buy them for benefits. For example, in fairness cream ads, the ad makers are stating that applying those creams will result in fairer complexion. Because of such ads more number of people want to become fair. Although such products rarely work, the repeating advertisements make people to buy them. While doing so people start disliking their own skin as they want to look fairer as shown in the advertisement. Another point is that people prefer same kind of clothing that is presented in the advertisement. The reason for this is that celebrities wear fancy outfits in the advertisement, which makes their followers to buy the same clothes as they are wearing. Furthermore, such advertisements claim that if people wear same dress, then they will look rich. As a result, people buy them and due to this they will not have their own clothing sense. Thus, these advertisements oblige people to wear what stars are wearing. In conclusion, although advertisements develop a feeling to look good, I opine that when people follow them they lose their inviduality, develop a habit to look same as in the advertisement and it affects a person’s clothing choice as well.