In modern times, young adults are spending less time with their families and more time with their friends. WHY has this change occurred? DO you think parents should force their children to spend more time at home?

In recent times, teenagers are inclined to spending more of their time with their friends rather than with their families. Not only will this essay discuss the reasons for such trend to occur but it will also explain my reasons why I believe parents should try enforcing practices to ensure their kids spend more time at home. The rapid changes in the recent technological era, has widened the age gap between young adults and their parents. This age gap fosters conflict of interest in the family set ups. An illustration of this in this age of social media, teenagers would rather have friends in a virtual whom they share common interests rather than spend time with family members whom they would find common interests with. Additionally, with recent economic fluctuations, parents are spending most of their time working in order to fulfill the families’ needs and therefore do not get enough time to get involved in their teenagers’ lives. This naturally causes a rift between teenagers and their parents, as they will start to alienate themselves. In my opinion, parents should recognize the need to create more family time with their teenagers because lack of it would have negative effects on their behavior outcome from external influences. Teenagers are susceptible to negative influence through interaction with the outside world without their parents’ knowledge or supervisor, which might lead to negative acquired behaviors according to child psychology experts. Moreover, if teenagers spend less time with their families, it may weaken family relations, which could lead to depression, or breed hatred towards parents. Parents should therefore put in place family practices from an early age to ensure more family time and this practice will trickle down to teenage years. In conclusion, the widespread trend of teenagers spending more time with friends is attributed to the conflict in interests with adults and lack of enough and quality family time. In my opinion, parents forcing children to spend more time with their families is of utmost importance.