In modern society, it has been observed that the elderly are not duly respected in some countries. Discuss the reasons why this has occurred and the effects it might have on our society.

In recent years, it is true that elderly people encounter inadequate respect from younger generations. There could be several reasons why this is the case and I would argue that it leads to detrimental impacts on society. There are a variety of explanations why young individuals show less respect for the elderly. The deterioration in family and social interactions is the first precursor of the phenomenon. As a matter of fact, a developed world sways people to adopt a hectic lifestyle, especially in metropolitan areas, hence the negligence on older family and community members. Since family elderly members are often considered irrelevant to younger people’s lives, they tend to underestimate moral values and express a lack of respect and attention to the elderly. Another reason why senior citizens are often shown little respect is due to a generation gap. In fact, many young people believe that the perceptions and ideas of older people are outdated and incompatible with a modern life; they, therefore, suppose that/justify that they could behave in a sarcastic way with elderly people. This trend is causing severe consequences on each individual, and a society as a whole. Firstly, it could lead to psychological influences and mental illnesses on old people, a sense of depression or isolation for instance, as their presence is not appreciated by younger people, particularly their family members. More importantly, this tendency/social swing would cause the moral degradation of the youth. Since young people find it unnecessary to respect seniors, they will soon show no respect to other human beings. Additionally, they will subsequently fail to transmit the primary values of mutual respect and a sense of family/domestic customs. In conclusion, improper respect to the elderly is caused by several factors and the negative influences of this problem should be taken into consideration.