In many societies people re-enter prison for crimes committed upon being released.

In many societies people re-enter prison for crimes committed upon being released. What are the main reasons why they re-offend and what are the solutions for their rehabilitation? Beyond any cavil, the rehabilitation of lawbreakers grabs our immediate attention because of its social significance. In the given context, it has been widely observed that criminals are repeatedly seen behind the bars, even once released after completing their sentence. Let us unearth the reasons behind this insidious trend before presenting possible solutions for returning ex-prisoners back to normal life. Recidivism What lies behind the notion that delinquents are prone to commit unlawful activities after being released? Lack of appropriate knowledge about the consequences of repeating crimes is surely one explanation. Unemployment is another. Evidence shows that most of the offenders could not complete basic education or develop a skill while in custody, so could not find substantial job placements to earn their living. But one plausible explanation of this absurd behaviour has passed all but unnoticed: mixing of minor and major criminals. Theoretically, the more a culprit is connected with hard offenders, the more he will learn tactics to deceive society. Thus, these probable reasons provoke wrongdoers to break the law repeatedly. While discussing the possible solutions to the above-mentioned problem, there is a need to focus on two important points: awareness and skill development. The more the authorities know about the ramifications of keeping all prisoners together under one roof, the more they will make strategies to keep them separated on the basis of the severity of crime. Another way is to provide proper education or professional training, such as knitting, sewing, or IT skills. Hence, once relieved, they might be able to adopt a suitable career path and behave like a responsible citizen. Driving the point home, we may assert that the soaring issue of re-committing is rising at a startling pace. As I have discussed, there are numerous reasons including illiteracy and weak rehabilitation policies in imprisonment, however, separate confinement and education could hold these lawbreakers.