Today’s food travels thousands of miles from the farm to the customers. Why does this happen? Is this a positive or negative trend?

In this day and age, locally grown foodstuffs are not the only available option, food from distant lands is also kept in stock ready for purchase. From my perspective, I assume that the two main spurs for this trend are the advent of intercontinental trade, and the locations of food manufacturing bases compared to civilian living accommodations. And to me, the advantages definitely outweigh the downsides of this procedure. To begin with, there are two primary reasons accounting for such a trend. First, it is undeniable that the rapid advancement of international trading has led to the rise in export-import sales in certain nations. And this has resulted in the intercontinental travel of nourishments. Second, farms and factories which specialized in producing food are frequently located in distant areas; however, the densely populated big cities are in large part the main sources of consumption. For instance, raw foods produced by remote farms are transported to food processing factories. Then going through numerous quality tests, the products will have to travel another long distance to be distributed to civilian markets which are adjacent to consumers. Evidently, this trend indicates higher living standards in several areas. Most importantly, exotic cuisines coming from many countries are now available for people overseas to enjoy. With such progressions, developing countries are now able to spread their specialties worldwide, and accordingly, this tendency would also contribute to economic growth in such regions. Moreover, processed food also illustrates the advancement of technology, and this type of nourishment is predominant in terms of preservation and accessibility. To exemplify this point, fresh supplies can only be stored for up to one week while processed ones, such as canned food, may last for months. Although the core of this claim is valid, some people still oppose the mass production of processed food as the additives and preservatives added are detrimental to our health. But thorough examination and scientific research have concluded that the amount of those substances in qualified processed food is negligible and safe for daily consumption. In conclusion, I opine that the two stated reasons have fully explained the emergence of this trend and such changes should continue to prosper for the sake of humankind.