In many schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (eg. languages) and boys choose science subjects (eg. Physics). What do you think are the reasons? Do you think that this tendency should be changed?

It is true that boys and girls tend to show a sharp difference in subject preferences; in particular, girls usually opt for art subjects while boys tend to choose science classes. There are several reasons to explain this tendency, and I think it should be changed so that the decision of students is only affected by their true interest. The distinction in boys’ and girls’ educational choices can be attributed to the gender-specific characteristics and stereotypes people have about them. Firstly, boys are usually better at logical thinking, which allows/enables them to have a better grasp of analytical subjects such as math, physics or chemistry. Girls, on the contrary, are regarded as more conscientious and patient, thus more apt to make the grade/succeed in subjects requiring meticulousness. Secondly, the traditional perception that certain subjects are meant for certain students and not others also play a part in the major choice of both sexes. Even today, most people implicitly associate males with science and female with arts, leading many male students hesitating to choose art classes, as they fear they would be considered girly to do so. Similarly, these stereotypes discourage females from pursuing science as they feel inadequate thus afraid of falling behind with their studies. I believe that this tendency needs some alteration. Some people may take the traditional view that students should only focus on a field/area compatible to/suitable for their gender-specific personalities. However, it would be of more importance for students to be at liberty to choose what they are truly passionate about, even subjects labelled unfit for their gender identity. Forcing students to attend an unwanted course may lead to undesirable outcomes. An illustration here is a male friend of mine in high school, who was forced to pursue engineering, though he always showed great enthusiasm for cooking and then he ended up dropping out of university due to a lack of motivation and poor performance. In conclusion, there are some main reasons THAT help explain students’ different choices of subjects, it is my personal belief that students should have the freedom to take up any subjects they wish.