Society is based on rules and laws. If individuals were free to do whatever they wanted to do, it could not function.

It is argued that a country could not run properly if rules and laws are not emphasised; therefore, citizens should not be permitted to act freely. Personally, although I agree with the opinion, I think the government should be flexible in rules and laws introduction and implementation. The first reason is that legal restrictions act as a deterrent to would-be criminals. In other words, those who intend to commit a crime might refrain from doing so if they know in advance that their wrongdoings would be punished. For instance, in Iran, not only does the death penalty exist for grave crimes such as murder or rape, but capital punishment is also for less serious ones such as armed robbery, blasphemy, drug dealing, or adultery. Thus, the law forces the criminal to weigh well the risks from his criminal actions; as a result, not all potential criminals are ready for the type of punishment described above and give up malice. This example illustrates how laws are playing a deterrent role against severe and more minor crimes. Laws also protect the fundamental rights of each citizen. Firstly, they guarantee that every member of society is entitled to freedom of choice, freedom of speech, and religious freedom. Take multinational Canada as a vivid example, where every person's rights are protected regardless of their belonging to any group. This attitude of the state towards the population has allowed the country to become a genuinely multicultural refuge for people from countries where people are less protected. Thanks to that, Canada tops the 2019 ranking of countries in terms of happiness, equality, and citizens' security. In conclusion, I fully agree that rules and laws are essential for a country's function and have to be strictly followed and obliged for every citizen of it. If a community did not have any rules or laws, it would lead to an appalling crime rate and violation of democratic rights and freedoms of people.