In many places, prisons are overcrowded and expensive for government to maintain. Yet when offenders are released, they end up back in prison a short while later. Does prison work? Should lawbreakers be rehabilitated or punished?

As the world is progressing, crime rates are also growing. In every country there are multiple jails and the maintainance of prisons is considered expensive and are overcrowded as well as criminals continue to commit crimes after being released and put in jails again which give rise to queries like does the prisons change anything and the culprits should be disciplined or rehabilitated. This essay will delve into both the aspects of this vexed statement. First of all, noticing the amount of criminal activities there is a certain need of prison in every country. These detention centres are used to keep the criminals until their charges are lifted. In addition these custody centres sometimes fails to correct the wrongdoers by offering facilities and fullfilling their basic needs. Some convicts take advantage of this and do not think of their detention as a correction. On the other hand, there are many types of culprits who commit various crimes. These offences range from theaft to violent activisties such as kidnapping, murder and rape. Therefore, punishment for the latter criminals is necessary and should never be let rehabilitate. However, minor deliquents should be fined for their activities and warned before returning to their normal life. Hence, considering the importance of prison even though it fails to fullfill the responsibilities the punishment or rehabilitation of lawbreakers depends upon the types of violations they are involved in performing.