In many parts of the world there are now more multi-generational households, e. g, where grandparents live with parents and children, than in the past. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In the context of the current, more young couples prefer living in an extended family than in a nuclear one; therefore, the concept of multi-generational households is staging a comeback in the past few years. There are many reasons behind this trend. In my opinion, the appearance of grandparents within households has a positive impact not only on the family but on society as well. On the one hand, one possible explanation for this trend is that it resolves a lot of social issues. Take Japan as an example: Japan is facing an aging crisis, and this increases the country’s crime rate; therefore, the rise of intergenerational families will meet the need to take care of the elderly, and the criminal percentage will also be reduced. In China, the number of extended families increases annually, and Chinese people believe that the existence of grandparents helps enrich their children’s emotional life due to the one-child policy of this country. Another reason is that the housing costs skyrocketed, and many couples choose to let their children live with grandparents in order to save accomodation fees. Although some conflicts are inevitable, I believe that this trend brings a lot of benefits. Three generations living under one roof strengthens relationships: it staves off the feeling of loneliness and isolation that older generations struggle with, and family members have more quality time together and create beautiful memories. Also, these families save resources, namely space or energy. This responsible way of living increases the sustainability of life on earth. Another advantage is that multiple generations under one roof ensures family safety. With many people living together, the house is never left unoccupied and this reduces the possibility of thefts and vandalism to households. In conclusion, the trend towards extended families has a beneficial influence on the family members and the society.