In many parts of the world there are fewer multi-generational households than in the past, with grandparents, parents, and older children often living apart from each other. What are the causes of this trend? Is this a positive or negative development?

Multigenerational family has always been controversial but nowadays, many families choose to live in multigenerational family instead of living in nuclear family because it has quite good impact on family and society. On the one hand, one possible explanation for this trend is that it solves a lot of economic and housing problems. When the fertility rate is high and the land is not growing, it is very expensive to buy land, so many families cannot afford to buy land to build a house. Therefore, living with grandparents is a reasonable and cost-effective choice. And with the regular work of adults during the epidemic period, staying with grandparents will reduce worries about taking care of children because grandparents can help a lot. Although some conflicts are inevitable, I believe this trend brings a lot of benefits. Three generations living under one roof strengthen relationships: reducing feelings of loneliness and isolation that older generations struggle with, and family members spending more time together and create good memories. In addition, these homes save on resources, namely space or energy. Another advantage is that many generations under one roof ensure family safety. With many people living together, the house is never empty and this reduces the possibility of theft and vandalism for households. In summary, the tendency of extended family has a beneficial effect on family members and society.