Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using social media.

Nowadays, social media has a considerable influence on society. What are the benefits and drawbacks of this double-edged sword? Undoubtedly, social media comprises many advantages. First, it allows people to stay in contact with everyone at anytime. Either you send messages or you call your friends whenever you want. Second, it is possible to make new friendships on the social network. There are online users who have the same interests as yours so that you can chat with them. Nonetheless, this amazing technology has potential problems as well. Firstly, users can easily get addicted to social media. Many people spend hours per day to upload photos and interact with others. Next, social network poses a risk of cyberbullying. Victims are confronted with idle gossip and criticism due to unreal rumors on the Internet. Overall, social media is an effective means of communication. Simultaneously, online users should acquire sufficient knowledge to protect themselves from potential risks, such as addiction and bullying.