In many parts of the world, cities are facing a shortage of land for housing, and only the countryside can provide space for building new homes. Many people claim this as a negative and unsustainable trend and why this is the case? How to make this an effective and long-term solution to the land shortage problem in cities?

In many parts of the world, cities are facing a shortage of land for housing, and only the countryside can provide space for building new homes. In my opinion, although the environment can be negatively affected by the development of new residential areas, it is possible to minimise such issues if construction is carefully planned by authorities. On the one hand, erecting new buildings in the countryside can have adverse effects on the countryside. Firstly, this can turn sparsely populated rural areas into crowded places. As a result, the tranquility, calmness and slow pace of life, which characterize the countryside, may disappear. Moreover, constructing housing in the countryside can take away the natural beauty of areas like mountains, hills, and rice paddy fields. Lastly, healthcare, schooling, and entertainment facilities in the countryside would fail to meet the demand for a greater population, and therefore many houses would be left abandoned after a couple years of use. For example, in Japan nowadays, there are many abandoned houses in the countryside, and those properties are being given away for free because owners do not want to pay for maintenance of the houses they no longer use. On the other hand, I believe that well-planned construction in the countryside by the government can help to satisfy the demand for new homes and minimize or even eliminate adverse effects on the environment. To begin with, the government should only permit construction companies to construct well-planned residential areas, which are then available for sale, while poorly planned by individuals are restricted or not allowed. Furthermore, facilities, such as hospitals, schools, transports and other entertainment buildings should be built and improved to meet the need of residents. An important planning policy that governments can adopt is to calculate and control the number of new houses built in each rural area to avoid overcrowding and negative impacts on the surrounding environment. In conclusion, I believe that well-planned construction in the countryside can help to solve the problem of land shortage in many cities and reduce negative impacts of building new homes on the environment.