In many parts of the world, children are given more freedom than in the past. Is this a positive or a negative development?

It is a fact that the kids today enjoy more privileges than the last generation. This is an advantageous scenario, because of its positive effects on the individual and society. To begin with, the freedom at their hand is enabling the children to voice out their opinions. As a result, they are able to choose their education and career, which they are passionate about. In turn, this helps them to be evolved as, more involved and dedicated professionals at work. This was not a possibility for the previous generations, as they were generally forced by their parents regarding education and career. For example, children these days opt for interesting professions in fields such as arts, travelling and creative skills which were discouraged by the parents in the past. In addition, greater freedom comes with greater responsibility. In other words, they experience many scenarios much earlier than their parents, which prepares them for the world at an early stage and also makes them more responsible. For instance, children these days are working during their holidays to make some extra money. This not only enables them to meet their own expenses but also makes them more responsible at a younger age. However, there are a few negative aspects of this scenario. In some cases, unlimited freedom can lead children into a bad company, which can cause potential damage to their lives. To exemplify this, the recent survey in The United States has revealed that at least 50 per cent of adolescents are under the influence of illegal drugs in the past three years. In conclusion, in recent days, children are enjoying more privileges than ever. Although this has some cons such as being influenced by bad company, it is a very positive scenario because of its good impact on the people and society as a whole. Hence, this should be encouraged further to expand their horizons more.