In many major cities around the globe the amount of traffic is increasing. What do you think are the causes of this? Can you suggest some possible solutions?

The amount of traffic worldwide is growing at the same time cities are becoming more and more congested. This is worrying trend, since it results in environmental pollution and severe health problems. The increase in traffic we are witnessing today could be caused by a number of neasons. First of all, cities are due growing population, which leads to greater distances that people have to work, shopping malls or recreational facilities. And because public transport is not always available or convenient, people prefer to use private cars. The rosult is that growing population buy more vohicies, which creates heavy congestion on city roads Another important factor that contributes to traffic congestion is the of the public systems mentioned above, in many cases, there aren't enough buses, trains or routes. And what makes things worse is that thase that do exist aro often old and uncomfortable for passengers. So, people have to roly on private mears of tation. What is needed to improve the situation is action. Public networks need to be improved and updated through government investment. Other measures could include buying buses and trains, new routes and making public transport cheaper, safer and more efficient. Another obvious solution is to encourage car-owners to cooperate and share one vehicle with other people. This could be done through mass-media campaigns explaining the environmental and financial benefits of car-poaling. To summarize, believe that the effects of heavy reliance cars together with congestion are too serious to ignore. Some measures have to be taken soon, otherwise the environment and people's health will be at great risk.