In many large cities in the world, the quality of life is decreasing. What are the reasons for this? Suggest some possible solutions.

It is thought that living in the big cities has not been a worthy place for the residents as the living standards have been increasingly degraded. There are several factors related to this issue and the measures should be taken to address it. It is possibly said that declining the quality of life may be caused by two main reasons. The first reason is that unlimited use car of drivers to lead to traffic congestion during rush hours. Toxic fumes or emissions from private vehicles have been releasing carbon dioxide, fine dust or lead into the atmosphere. This could, therefore, be harmed human’s health, people are likely to contract some respiratory diseases including asthma or even lung cancer. The rapid growth of crime rate is the second factor that renders people unsafe when residing in large cities. Take Ho Chi Minh city for this obvious example, wealthy or affluent people are usually the aim of criminals who snatch the bag or use knives or homemade weapons to threaten and then appropriate their property. To solve this problem, three major solutions should be identified to tackle problems. Firstly, the government should invest more national budget in expanding roads or refurbishing public transport system. If these measures succeeded changing the frequent car use of people, it could ease the high volume of traffic jam in the near future. Secondly, increasing the number of policemen and CCTV installations on the streets, which will be guaranteed more residential safety. Lastly, the awareness of dwellers should be gradually raised through television channels to demonstrate for viewers how to protect themselves when coping with criminals as well as change the way of using private vehicles. In conclusion, although residents in big cities are facing with both environmental and safe problems, the authorities will be implementing some potential measures to deal with the issue. Hence, the quality of people will be improved greatly.