In many countries, traditional foods are being replaced by international fast foods. This is having a negative effect of both families and societies.

In the recent times, foreign junk food is not only gaining popularity but is largely preferred than usual home-cooked food. With the globalization and internationalization, most of the fast food chain of restaurants have become easily accessible and due to which old fashioned food have lost its charm. This is causing several detrimental effects to people and the community. I agree that this shift in people’s food choices would lead to various unfavorable outcomes. Processed foods are mostly consumed by youngsters who are inclining towards westernization. As part of western culture, ready to eat food is famous for its cheap cost and negligible preparation time. Although young adults are involved in declining trend of old-styled food consumption, major cultural shift has been equally responsible for it. Because children have low hunger resistance, food items like burgers, pizzas and sandwiches which require minimal preparation time attracts them. Parents tend to satisfy their adolescents’ need without proper analysis of the cons of consuming food sold in these posh restaurants. Among various adverse consequences of replacing traditional home-made food with convenience food items, severe health impact tops the list. These pre-packaged foods cause a lot of serious fitness issues and result in vitamin deficiencies. It contributes to the fat, cholesterol and glucose levels of a child which subsequently lead to parents spending extravagant amount of money towards reviving side-effects caused by the ‘ready-to-eat’ food ingredients. According to a popular research, individual who eat a lot of domestic made food are more connected to the culture and tend to remain closer to the family. Caretakers and guardians need to consider this while supporting this revolutionary shift of preferring pre-cooked food to old fashioned nourished food. I personally agree that more than reflecting adoption of western culture in food choices, population should review the health-damaging aspects of readymade food consumption.