In many countries, traditional foods are being replaced by fast food. This has a negative impact on families, individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the pace at which people live is fast. Many people are pressed for time because they have hectic lifestyle. Therefore, many of them choose fast food over traditional home-made foods since the convenience foods are available in every restaurant and take less time for preparation as its name represents. Many commentators believe they have detrimental effects on people, their family and the community on the whole. It is indisputable that despite home-made foods, which are rich in vitamins and useful minerals, fast food has poor nutritional value. It is high in fat, sugar, salt and artificial additives which contribute to many diseases for individuals like indigestion and obesity. Physical problems aside, unhealthy eating habits are one of major factors leading to mental health and depression. Moreover, the prevalence of fast food restaurants has negatively affected families as well. Being inexpensive and taking less time for preparation as attractive attributions of fast food prompt many individuals to have their food outside home. This in turn, limits the opportunity for family members to sit together in meal time and share their experience. In the long run, family ties will be weakened as they spend less time together. Communities also have been negatively affected as a result of people’s unhealthy lifestyles involved with indulging in fast food. The society whose people are suffering from physical and mental problems is less likely to be a prosperous community. This situation is compounded by the fact that many financial resources that could be employed in many fields like educational should be allocated to address this issue. To conclude, it seems to me that consumption of fast food has led to unfavorable lifestyles which have adversely affected the communities and families.